Ikea Rast Hack

So I finally got around to starting my Ikea Rast Hack. I love doing stuff like this and really should make more time to do it!

I generally try to buy secondhand furniture as it lasts way longer and is generally of better quality than anything I could afford new. Could I find anything to fit in this nook I have in the hallway? Hell no!

So long story short, the Rast fits in the nook perfectly. Although its a fairly solid piece of furniture it’s pretty ugly huh?

20140104-182916.jpg

So then the search for an Ikea Hack…. The one that I love the most is this one from The Turquoise Home

20140104-184530.jpg

Amazing huh?!

So here goes….

Firstly purchased the Rast and some thin strips of pine to overlay on the drawers. Measured (7.5″ and 21″incase I need to remember!) cut and the PVAed (not a real word, but hey this is my world!) them to the drawer fronts. I don’t need to put the strips on the sides of the unit for this project as it fits so snug you won’t see them. After the PVA had stuck them down I went over all the little gaps with some wood filler.

20140104-182042.jpg

20140104-182102.jpg

Leave a comment